Skip Navigation

Distinguished Lecture Series (2008-2009)

2008-2009 CGCS Distinguished Lecturer Series

Lecture locations and times:

Unless otherwise noted, the regular location for the lectures is
The Koffler Institute for Pharmacy Management, Bancroft Ave. Toronto, Room KP108
and the regular time for the lectures is
Tuesday at 3:30 p.m., with coffee and snacks served starting from 3:00 p.m. in the KP lobby.

The two exceptions to the regular schedule are:
  1. Monday, October 27, 2008, 5 p.m., lecture at the University of Toronto, Scarborough (see flyer).
  2. Tuesday, February 10, 2008, 5 p.m., lecture at the University of Toronto, Scarborough (see details below).

CGCS Lecture Schedule

Date Place & Time
Speaker Title
Tuesday, Sep. 16, 2008 Koffler Centre KP108, 3:30 p.m. Jing Chen, University of Toronto
Remote Sensing of Vegetation Structure and Its Use in Global Carbon Cycle Modeling and Inversion
Tuesday, Sep. 30, 2008 Koffler Centre KP108 , 3:30 p.m. Peter Huybers, Harvard
Changes in Earth's Orbit as a Pacemaker of Pleistocene Glacial Cycles
Tuesday, Oct. 14, 2008 Koffler Centre KP108 , 3:30 p.m. Rene Laprise, UQAM Climate Models: The Importance of Getting the Physics Right
Monday, Oct. 27, 2008 University of Toronto, Scarborough,
Management Building MW170, 5:00 p.m. See flyer.
Sally MacIntyre, UCSB
Arctic Lakes are Sieves:  Will Climate Warming Close the Pores?
Tuesday, Nov. 11, 2008 Koffler Centre KP108, 3:30 p.m. Michael Oppenheimer, Princeton
How Warm is Too Warm?  Global Warming, Sea Level Rise, and the Future of the Polar Ice sheets
Tuesday, Nov. 25, 2008 Koffler Centre KP108, 3:30 p.m. Gavin Schmidt, NASA/GISS Synthesizing Paleo-climate Data to Constrain Climate Predictions
Tuesday, Dec. 9, 2008 Koffler Centre KP108, 3:30 p.m. Piers Forster, Leeds Global Warming: An Energy Balance Perspective
Tuesday, Jan. 13, 2009 Koffler Centre KP108, 3:30 p.m. Graham Bell, McGill Adaptation, Extinction and Global Change
Tuesday, Jan. 27, 2009

CANCELLED
Tuesday, Feb. 10, 2009 University of Toronto,
Scarborough, AC223, 6:00 p.m.
William Ruddiman, UVA Pre-industrial Agriculture Prevented Present-Day Glaciation
Tuesday, Feb. 24, 2009 Koffler Centre KP108, 3:30 p.m. Paul Kushner, UofT    
The Annular Modes and Global Change
Tuesday, Mar. 10, 2009 Koffler Centre KP108, 3:30 p.m. Allen Goldstein, UC Berkeley
Known and Unexplored Organic Constituents in the Earth's Atmosphere
Tuesday, Mar. 24, 2009 Koffler Centre KP108, 3:30 p.m. Anthony Broccoli, Rutgers What Can We Learn from the Meridional Overturning Circulation During the Last Glacial Maximum?
Tuesday, Apr. 7, 2009 Koffler Centre KP108, 3:30 p.m. Paul Falkowski, Rutgers The Biology of Greed and the Future of Humans
Please join the CGCS e-mail list to receive information about the Distinguished Lecture Series and other CGCS events.

Send e-mail to: listserv@listserv.utoronto.ca

In the BODY of the message, type the command:

subscribe CGCS-L yourfirstname yourlastname

If you wish, you may unsubscribe from the e-mail list.